“Focus Clare!”

8 Jul

I’ve always been a bit of a dreamer.

One of my biggest concerns as I pack and prepare to leave for Kenya is that I might drift from my main focus on the impact that mobile technology is having on farmers and the charities which exist to help and support them. However, the excitement and discussion which surrounds mobile phones in the developing world is constantly making me think outside the parameters of this question.

So partly in an attempt to bulk out and give background, and partly because I want this multimedia documentary to capture as much of this explosive new industry as possible, I’m giving myself a few other pointers…

 

What technologies are being used?

What are the consequences of using these technologies on charities?

What are the consequences of using these technologies on farmers’ livelihoods and agriculture?

How are these technologies beginning to support agricultural businesses?

What are the global consequences of using these technologies?

Why are countries developing at different rates?

What does the future hold?

 

With all this in mind, I hope I’ll be able to conduct relevant and interesting interviews for my radio documentary.

Back to the to do list then…

Leave a Reply

